Life: Make the Most of It

So today I was walking around campus listening to a new Pandora station my friend Joe recommended to me (Milky Chance, you should check it out), but as I was walking, I was thinking. I think about a lot of things when I walk, but today it was different. I thought about life. I see thousands of students each day on campus and I think about what these people are majoring in or if they are gonna drop out; are they happy with what they are doing? And then it totally hit me. Most of us are set up into a system very early on in life. We are told to go to school, go to college, get a job, and then work that job for the rest of our lives. Rarely are we ever told that it’s okay to break the system. We are never told it’s okay to see the world, or not go to college immediately following high school.  We are just convinced that if we do not follow the system, we will be flipping burgers for the rest of our lives (not that there is anything wrong with that, it’s just boring.)

I think one of my goals for 2015 is to really make the most out of my life. 2014 was a great great year for me, but why not make this year even better? I encourage and challenge you to do things that make you happy. This is your life and waiting for the “perfect moment” to start doing the things you want is never going to happen. There is no “perfect moment”, which is why you should just go out and just have fun (but don’t get too crazy).

Life doesn’t wait. That’s why I think making the most of it is SO important. I recently recall a trip that I took with my family to New York City. Hands down the best trip I have ever taken. The city was so alive and so hectic and definitely lived up to my expectations. I saw Broadway shows, I met a couple of famous people (I was on the set of a Michael Keaton film and saw Tom Hanks come out of his broadway show), and had some of the best pizza ever! But being in NYC really put somethings  into perspective for me. It really made me think about what I am going to do with my life. I realized on that trip that I could really be happy with a career in Public Relations. Being in a place like NYC or being in LA, as long as I felt like it was the right step, I could really be happy doing what I love. Life is an outcome of what you choose to make of it. With that being said, follow your heart. Live the life you want. Live your life now and not later because remember, Life waits for no one.

Think about that,

Tevin

Leave a Reply

