Blogging and Microblogging: Your Life in 140 Characters

So this week in class we were discussing Blogging and Microblogging. Just saying the name “micro blog” makes it sound difficult and intellectual, but really it’s just a condensed version of a blog. Are you on Twitter or Facebook? Oh, you are? Cool, well you have a micro blog. Micro blogs are a type of blog that let people update their information in the form of a basic text message. Simply just tweeting your opinion or tweeting what you ate for lunch is a form of blogging. People who access that content are looking into your life and are reading your miniature blog. Pretty cool right? Yeah, I think it is too. Check out this article for more on Micro Blogs. 

I think what is so cool about the concept of both micro blogs and blogs are that it can be anything you want it to be. Blogs are all you, all the time. When I first started out on Twitter with my micro blog, I was tweeting my thoughts and just my day to day routine. Something as innocent as “lol going to class” or “hahaha eww this cheese on my pizza is yuck”( hahaha i said yuck) was actually me blogging. Even though it was 140 characters or less, I was still letting people know what I was thinking or what I was doing.

When I started this blog, it took me a little while to come out of my shell. What would people think? Am I writing even worthy content? But after a few posts, I realized, this blog is going to be what I want it to be. I think that more people need to realize that there is a way to be yourself online without having to hold back certain aspects of yourself. I do this by being goofy in my posts and writing what I care about. So go on and start writing. A lot of good can come out of it.

There are so many benefits to having a blog if you go about it the right way. It can help you build a better network, make people see the real you, and potentially get you a job (or better job). To see all the ways blogging can benefit you, click this link.  If you want to start a blog, but don’t even know where to start, look no further. I got the hookup RIGHT HERE (I got you, you’re welcome).  Honestly, it’s awesome and you won’t regret. I hope you guys enjoyed this post and I will see you next week!

Until next time,
Tevin.

Leave a Reply

