I’m Going to be Speaking at Stanford!!!!

Alright guys,

So it’s been almost two weeks since I last posted, but there has been so much going on that needs to be discussed. First off, I am going to be speaking at STANFORD FREAKING UNIVERSITY! Huge right? Well, let’s talk about why I will be speaking there and what other things I will be doing.

I’m sure by now, most of you guys have heard about the Supreme Court ruling about gay marriage here in the next two months, if not, go read up on it here. Well one of the little known facts about me is that my parents are actually one of the couples involved in that case. Last year, some family friends of ours (Greg Bourke and Michael DeLeon) were suing the state of Kentucky regarding their marriage and how it was not recognized. Because of this, they have to pay separate health insurances, car insurances, and do cannot share benefits.My parents and two other couples are in the exact same situation and signed onto their lawsuit. It’s a complicated web to unweave, but once you can fully understand, it’s messed up!

Anyways, we are going to the supreme court, which is monumental. But because of how big this case is, we are having to do press (check us out on the Huffington Post sometime in the next few weeks). We have been asked to do interviews left and right and it’s very overwhelming, especially considering that I am a full time college student who works two jobs and is heavily involved with my fraternity. One of the cool opportunities that I get to do in addition to going to Washington D.C. later next month, is speaking at Stanford University. My dad told me that they wanted him and I to speak there. I’m basically going to talk about my experience being raised by gay parents and what my view is as a young adult. I have to say, I’m really nervous because it is my first speaking engagement, but I know that it’s going to be great.

One of the most important things about this entire experience is to let people know that my family is no different than theirs. We are literally just as boring as everyone else, and I barely even see my parents anymore anyway because I legit have so much college stuff to do. However, through this, I want to open people’s eyes and educate them. I want people to be aware that change is coming and in forty years when we look back on this, we realize what steps were taken to change the future. Like I said, I’m nervous, but holy crap, I am excited. I will be posting about future articles and interviews I will be doing in the coming weeks.

Until next time,

Tevin

Leave a Reply

