Doing the Most

So recently I have been doing the most. What does that mean? It literally means I have been doing everything. I rarely get a chance to just breathe and be by myself because I am either at school, work, or doing fraternity stuff, and if I am not doing those three things I am asleep. Now generally I would tell people to reach for their goals and do what they want, but holy moly people know your limits. My entire sophomore year of college has been a marathon and I am not even in the homestretch. I am very much a “yes-man.” I will say yes to anyone and everyone if you ask me to do something for you. I have a hard time saying no, which is a curse. Granted, I couldn’t imagine my life being any different. If there was nothing to do, I would actually be really worried.

My summers no longer consist of staying home and doing chores, but rather, they consist of working 8-9 hour days and then coming home and doing chores (I can’t win on the chores). So on my days off, I take what I can get. This is probably one of the most pointless posts I have written to date, but there is a moral to this story. KNOW YOUR LIMITS!!!! It is so easy in college to say yes to everything, if you say no, it’s okay. No one is going to think differently of you. This is something I am still learning. I think it took working two jobs and going to school full time for me to realize that saying no isn’t going to kill you. One day I was forced to say “no” when asked if I could pick up another shift at my first job, and they totally understood. Shocker, right? Yeah, well I was actually pretty shocked. If you know your limits and know that you are doing the best you can, that is all that truly matters.

Until next time,

Tevin.

Leave a Reply

