Growing Up & Growing Out

So last week, I decided to put a stake in my adulthood. I made a HUGE decision regarding my future. I am moving out of my parents house. Let me say that again….I AM MOVING OUT OF MY PARENTS HOUSE!!!! I never thought this day would ever come and as much as it excites me, it also scares the heck out of me. My fraternity brothers and I found a house (and not a “party house” a legitimate house where you dwell).

Telling my parents was probably the most nerve racking thing I have ever done. I got incredibly nervous about what they would say or think, or if they would even let me. Let’s be real here, I am 20 years old, so I wasn’t necessarily asking for permission, but having their blessing makes a huge difference whether this could work or not. As I have stated before, I go to school full time and work two jobs, so my schedule is packed. It just makes more sense to be closer to campus and be where my life is.

So back to telling my parents….I told them and they totally didn’t kill me, which was a huge deal. I thought there were gonna be tears and tons of questions. There weren’t any tears (atleast when I was in the room), but oh my gosh you would’ve thought I was taking a polygraph test with all the questions they asked me. “Where is the house?” “How much is rent with and without utilities?” “Are you gonna be safe?” “What’s your room gonna look like?” There were tons of questions and surprisingly, I answered every single one of them. I think they were surprised that I had an answer to everything.

In closing, a lot of things have been happening over the last few months and will continue to evolve over the next few months. I can’t wait to see where life takes me and where I end up. I am definitely growing up and growing out, and while its scary, it’s gonna be great.

Until next time,

Tevin.

Leave a Reply

